EB-5 项目

美国国会于1990年设立EB-5移民项目,目的是创造新的经济活动和增加就业机会,以活络美国的经济。 加州农产品出口集团(CCAE)区域中心设立于2002年,目标则是要推广移民法中未充分利用到的项目。

  • 移民法

    外国人可以通过数种不同途径成为美国合法永久居民,其中之一就是运用其资金开展商业活动,为美国工作者保障或创造就业岗位。美国国会通过《移民与国籍法案》203(b)(5)条的目的,是为了吸引外来资金,以创造就业机会,提振美国经济。外籍人士用资金创造就业岗位,并达到法定要求,就有机会获得合法的美国永久居民身份。此项目通常也被称为第五优先职业移民,或EB-5投资移民签证项目。

    每年约有一万个此类签证名额,其中有三千个名额保留给如加州农产品出口集团(CCAE)等指定区域中心。

  • 一般项目与试办项目的差别
    一般项目 试办项目
    一般项目依法有四项要求:

    (1) 必须投资于新的或现有的企业。

    (2) 视企业地点而定,必须投资50万或1百万美元。(若投资于“目标就业区”,则50万美元即可)

    (3) 企业的成果必须有助于美国经济,并(直接)全职雇用至少10个美国工人。

    (4) 此新企业主(移民申请人)必须参与管理此新企业.

    (1) 必须投资于新的或现有的企业。

    (2) 视企业地点而定,必须投资50万或1百万美元。(若投资于“目标就业区”,则50万美元即可)。

    (3) 企业的成果必须有助于美国经济,并间接雇用至少10个美国工人。

    (4) 此新企业主(移民申请人)必须参与管理此新企业。

  • 签证资格

    通过这个项目,企业主、其配偶及21岁以下的未婚子女都符合移民签证的资格。*
    此类别的移民规定颇为复杂,但是加州农产品出口集团(CCAE)的区域中心项目可以帮助您达到法律要求。从1997至2002年的五年期间,CCAE是移民局唯一认可的区域中心,同时CCAE均能达到所有最新的法律要求。

常见问题

加州农产品出口集团(CCAE)是什么时候成为美国公民及移民服务局指定区域中心?

这为何重要?

美国移民局从2002年起,开始对现有的区域中心和新的区域中心申请改采更严格的标准。为了保有指定资格并继续运作,1900年代期间即获得许可的各中心必须向移民局重新提出申请,并证明其达到最新的要求

CCAE的做法:

由于美国移民局对于新区域中心的评估过程改采更严格的标准,因此经过漫长的申请程序,CCAE于2002年获准成为指定区域中心。之前五年,EB-5试办项目没有批准成立任何区域中心。

有多少投资者的I-526申请获得批准?

这为何重要?

对指定区域中心来说,I-526申请批准表示投资者所做的投资达到EB-5签证的要求。即使成为指定区域中心,并不代表就一定能满足这些要求。区域中心若有许多I-526申请都获得批准,则表示其与移民局合作的经验较佳,对于投资者获得批准的相关要求也有较深入的了解。

CCAE的做法:

共有超过140位参加CCAE承办项目的投资移民人士的I-526申请获得批准,成功率达100%。CCAE团队承诺,从一开始提出外国企业家I-526申请起,到最后I-829解除条件完成为止的约两年期间,将为申请者提供最周到的协助。

CCAE区域中心有任何投资者的I-829解除条件申请获得批准吗?

这为何重要?

I-829解除条件申请获准,可说是EB-5投资质量、企业生存能力、领导及管理者的执行力、企业组织和就业计划的健全程度以及区域中心及其工作人员能力的重要指标。有I-829申请获准的区域中心,代表其历史较久,而且证明其投资规划已经达到无条件永久居民身份的要求。此外,在I-829解除条件申请阶段,区域中心是否熟悉移民局服务中心的处理程序也是极为重要的。

CCAE的做法:

目前CCAE已有超过40位客户通过I-829而条件解除。同样重要的是,没有任何一位CCAE客户的申请被驳回。与I-526申请程序一样,CCAE团队会协助投资人士及其律师为申请做好准备工作。

投资者是否需预先支付行政管理费或会员费给区域中心?

这为何重要?

大多数区域中心会向参与其投资项目的投资者收取费用,通常称为行政管理费、开办费或会员费,这些费用可能包括或不包括准备和处理各种签证申请的律师费或移民局的申请费。有时,这种费用是区域中心的唯一收入来源。因此,在考虑不同投资项目时,了解需要支付的费用金额、包括的事项,以及是否还有其他费用,是非常重要的。许多情况是,在支付过这些费用后,区域中心便对EB-5投资的最终结果不再有其他的财务权益。此类费用,与有些区域中心因需代投资者支付如律师费和移民局申请费等而收取的订金,在性质上并不相同。

CCAE的做法:

CCAE并不收取任何开办费、会员费或每年的行政管理费。我们并不只是关注投资者是否参与项目,因此我们的报酬是系于投资成功后的丰硕成果。

区域中心的承办企业过去的运营绩效如何?

这为何重要?

除了得到签证的好处之外,EB- 5投资其实是涉及大量资金而且有风险的商业投资行为。为了要赚取利润、避免损失并实现商业计划的目标,必须要由商业经验丰富的管理和行政领导专才来负责投资项目。然而,许多EB- 5投资项目却是由没有企业经营管理经验、甚至完全没有成功经营过任何企业的人在负责运作。

CCAE的做法:

CCAE的创办人兼主席有四十年的商业经验,成功经营住宅和商业建筑、国际性肥料生产和销售、建筑施工机具及零部件的批发分销。此外,还有一批在当地生活、工作的高素质的商业、金融、法律和营销专才做他的后盾。

由区域中心承办的投资项目是否符合EB- 5的《Izummi事项》裁决案例中有关风险要求的描述?

这为何重要?

《Izummi事项》(Matter of Izummi)说明为达到 EB-5 项目的要求所做的投资确实具有“风险”。《Izummi 事项》中叙述:
“投资行为即假定有风险。外国人必须参与投资,即使并不确定在取得无条件永久居民身份之后,是否能够将其股份售出;即使售出股份,售价亦可能是出乎意料的低(或出乎意料的高而且远多于其买价)。因此,外国人同时承担损失或获利的风险。否则即允许将其所作之安排转换为贷款。”
最近兴起一种投资模型,其结构与贷款非常相似。在这种情形下,企业取得资金、支付利息以及偿付的方式都类似贷款。但是,对于通过EB-5投资签证类别而寻求永久居民身份的人来说,任何形式的赎回协议或资金回报保证等都是明文禁止的。为了吸收资金而提供保证,是违反“风险”要求的作法,此举其实将严重危及申请人的移民程序。

CCAE的做法:

CCAE的项目都是对运作中的企业进行股权投资。投资者同时面临“损失或获利的风险”,这是符合EB-5签证要求的作法。由于成为了这些企业的业主,投资者面临获利、损失,以及资本回报的不确定性。这些投资均严格遵守法律规范,也符合《Izummi事项》所叙述的相关要求。这不是贷款、没有支付利息,投资者的资金也没有定期回报保障。

区域中心或投资主体是如何降低投资风险以保护投资者?

这为何重要?

EB-5投资有两种风险:签证资格和投资亏损。有些区域中心可能没有足够的经验或必要的资源来管理这些风险,而无法实现投资者移民和投资的愿望。经验丰富而且思虑周密的区域中心,则会妥善管理EB -5签证程序,同时为投资者在企业的利益把关。

CCAE的做法:

CCAE选择其EB-5项目,关注的焦点是成功、风险管理,以及了解该项目如何配合复杂的移民条件。挑选出的项目,都是由经验丰富、备受尊重的人士负责管理。他们对于企业机构和相关行业都有深入的了解。CCAE或其关联公司都在财务上投入经营,因此区域中心与移民投资者的投资目标是一致的。

计划中是如何退场?

这为何重要?

退场事件(exit event)是指投资回报的时间或情况。并非所有区域中心都会清楚界定何时或如何退场,而我们则是经过仔细分析,所以对于退场的掌握准确度很高。我们必须全面掌握投资和回报的状况并精准预估其时程,才能在投资区域中心的项目时作出明智的决定。

CCAE的做法:

CCAE是针对各项目的不同特点来规划其退场策略,这样移民投资者才能在不同的行业享有最大的灵活性,同时拥有长期的财务效益。基本上,从一个项目退场,可能是将整个公司出售、合并、公开招股,或只是单纯的投资者按当时市值出售股份。关于各项目退场规划的详细情形,请参阅我们的项目商业计划书。

EB-5 项目的地点在哪里?

这为何重要?

项目的地点必须能够满足企业的特定需求,考虑的因素包括设施条件、有适当技能的员工、有供货商、让消费者感到方便等。

CCAE的做法:

CCAE位于加州中部的圣华金谷。圣华金谷面积达27000平方英里,划分为九个县。圣华金谷的中央是Fresno市,加州的第六大城。根据Ernst and Young所做的研究,Fresno是生产和销售的理想地点,因为距离此地一天车程范围内的消费人口超过3千5百万人。

区域中心的承办单位是位于区域中心运营范围内吗?

这为何重要?

项目地点若能位于区域中心办事处的附近,那么有意投资的人做详细评估时会方便得多。邻近项目地点也可以让区域中心经常代表投资者定期监督管理其投资情况。同时,这也让中心的负责人以及企业的管理人员,可以对投资者的问题或顾虑迅速作出反应。

CCAE的做法:

Fresno市位于CCAE项目区域的中心,这里也是区域中心的发源地并设有办事处。CCAE的董事们坚信,区域中心必须对项目区域了如指掌并在此设点,这是非常重要的。

区域中心的代表是否可以带我去参观项目的地点?

这为何重要?

共有超过85个区域中心散布在美国各地,因此要一一评估这些区域中心和它们所推广的项目是非常困难的。比较有效率的作法是到这些项目现场做实地考察,与中心负责人和项目主管直接面对面交换意见,如此即可评估区域中心及其投资质量。

CCAE的做法:

CCAE建议有意提出申请的人士应仔细阅读项目摘要的各项细节,并应安排实地考察,与日常业务管理人员面谈,亲自评估具体的业务条件。我们了解,这项投资具有重要的移民和财务意义,因此我们相信实地考察并与资深合伙人会面,将有助于客户评估我们的各种规划。

EB-5 Program

Created by the United States Congress in 1990, EB-5 immigration seeks to benefit the United States economy by generating new economic activity and increasing employment. The California Consortium for Agricultural Export Regional Center Designation in 2002 was part of an attempt to revitalize what had historically been an underused category of immigration law.

  • Immigration Laws

    There are several ways in which a foreigner can become a legal permanent resident of the United States. One of the ways is by using his or her capital to develop business activities that preserve and create jobs for U.S. workers. When Congress passed Section 203(b)(5) of the Immigration and Nationality Act, the objective was to encourage an infusion of capital that would create employment and benefit the U.S. economy. Foreign individuals who use capital to create jobs and meet the requirements of the law may be granted legal, permanent United States residency status. This program is also commonly referred to as the fifth employment-based preference or the EB-5 Immigrant Investor Visa Program.

    There are approximately 10,000 of these visas available each year with 3,000 set aside for those that immigrate through a Designated Regional Center such as the California Consortium for Agricultural Export.

  • Regular Program vs Pilot Program
    Regular Program Pilot Program
    There are four requirements of the law under the Regular
    Program: 

    (1) Investment must be made in a new business or an existing
    one.

    (2) The individual must put either $500,000 or $1,000,000
    of capital into that business depending upon the area in
    which the business is formed. ($500,000 is sufficient in areas
    considered “targeted employment areas”).

    (3) Business results must benefit the U.S. economy and create
    full-time employment (directly) for at least 10 U.S. workers.

    (4) The new business owner (the immigration applicant) must
    participate in the management of the new business.

    These same legal requirements apply to the Pilot Program, which
    allows for the immigration applicant to create a new business
    within a designated Regional Center. 

    (1) Investment must be made in a new business or an existing
    one.

    (2) The individual must put either $500,000 or $1,000,000
    of capital into that business depending upon the area in
    which the business is formed. ($500,000 is sufficient in areas
    considered “targeted employment areas”).

    (3) Business results must benefit the U.S. economy and create
    indirect employment for at least 10 U.S. workers.

    (4) The new business owner (the immigration applicant) must
    participate in the management of the new business.

  • Visa Eligibility

    Through this program, the business owner, his/her spouse, and unmarried children under the age of 21 become eligible for an immigrant visa. *

    Immigration within this category is relatively complicated, but the California Consortium Regional Center program will help you meet the legal requirements. CCAE is the only regional center to have been approved by the USCIS during the five year period of 1997 through 2002 and has been found to meet the requirements of the most recent interpretations of the law.

Frequently Asked Questions

When was the company granted USCIS Regional Center Designation?

Why is this important?

In 2002 USCIS imposed stricter requirements on existing regional centers and new regional center applications. To maintain their designation and continue operations, centers approved in the 1900’s, were required to reapply to USCIS and demonstrate that they met the new requirements.

California Consortium Response:

The California Consortium was approved as a Designated Regional Center in 2002. In was the first regional center approval after a five-year hiatus in the EB-5 Pilot Program. The California Consortium approval followed a lengthy application process that largely contributed to the new regional center evaluation process established by USCIS at that time.

How many investors have received I-526 petition approvals?

Why is this important?

In the Designated Regional Center setting, I-526 petition approvals show that the specific investment used by the investor meets the requirements of the EB-5 visa. Regional Center Designation by itself does not satisfy these requirements. Regional centers with a history of many I-526 approvals have more experience working with USCIS and often a better understanding of what is required for the investors to receive them.

California Consortium Response:

Over 140 immigration investors have received I-526 petition approval by participating in a California Consortium sponsored project. This represents a flawless immigration track record of 100% approvals. The California Consortium team commits to assisting clients throughout their immigration process, beginning with the I-526 Petition for Alien Entrepreneur, and ending with the I-829 Removal of Conditions filed approximately two years later.

Does the regional center have any investors with an approved I-829 Removal of Conditions?

Why is this important?

Each I-829 Removal of Conditions petition approval is a key indicator of the quality of the EB-5 investment, the viability of the business enterprise, the strength of its executives and managers, the soundness of the business and employment plan, and the capabilities of the regional center and its staff. Regional centers that have I-829 petition approvals have been in business longer and their investment programs have been proven to produce the results that meet the requirements for unconditional permanent residency. Further, at the I-829 Removal of Conditions step, a regional center’s familiarity with Service Center expectations is immensely valuable.

California Consortium Response:

Presently, over 40 California Consortium clients have received their I-829 Removal of Conditions. Equally important, no California Consortium clients have received a denial. As with the I-526 petition process, the California Consortium team assists the investor and the attorney preparing the case.

Does the investor have to pay the regional center an upfront administrative fee or subscription fee?

Why is this important?

Most regional centers charge investors a fee to participate in their investments. Often referred to as administrative, syndication, or subscription fees, these charges may or may not cover attorney fees or USCIS application fees for preparing and processing the various visa applications. In some cases this fee is the only source of income for the regional center. When considering alternative investments, it is important to know the fees, what they cover, and what other costs the investor will have to pay. In many cases, once the fee is paid the regional center has no further financial interest in the final outcome of the EB-5 qualifying investment. Fees of this sort should not be confused with deposit required by some regional centers to pay for services rendered on behalf of the investor such as legal fees and USCIS filing fees.

California Consortium Response:

California Consortium does not charge any subscription fees, syndication fees, or yearly administrative fees. With a commitment that extends far beyond the initial decision to participate, the California Consortium’s compensation is tied to the success of the investment.

Does the regional center sponsor have a track record of business success?

Why is this important?

Regardless of the visa benefit, EB-5 investments are real businesses with large amounts of capital at risk. To earn profits, avoid losses, and meet the objectives of the business plan, these projects require experienced management and executive leadership by seasoned businesspeople. This essential ingredient is missing in EB-5 investments managed by people who have no experience in the business of the enterprise and in some cases, have no experience successfully running businesses at all.

California Consortium Response:

The California Consortium Founder and Chairman has a forty year track record of success in residential and commercial construction, international fertilizer manufacturing and sales, and wholesale distribution of construction equipment supplies and parts. Further, he is supported by highly qualified business, finance, legal, and marketing professionals – most of whom live and work in the area.

Do investments sponsored by the regional center fit the ‘at-risk’ description outlined in the EB-5 precedent case decision Matter of Izummi?

Why is this important?

Matter of Izummi describes the requirements to qualify an EB-5 investment as truly “at risk”. Matter of Izummi states:

“An investment assumes that a risk exists. The alien must go into the investment not knowing for sure if he will be able to sell his interest at all after he obtains his unconditional permanent resident status; and if he is successful in selling his interest, the sale price may be disappointingly low (or surprisingly high and more than what he paid). This way the alien risks both gain and loss. To allow otherwise transforms the arrangement into a loan.”

There has been a recent resurgence of investment models that are structured very similar to a loan. In these circumstances, the manner by which the funds go to the enterprise looks like a loan, pays interest like a loan, and is repaid like a loan. However, any type of redemption agreement or guaranteed return of capital is expressly prohibited for those seeking permanent residency through the EB-5 investor visa category. To offer such a guarantee would violate the “at risk” requirement and greatly jeopardize the applicant’s immigration process.

California Consortium Response:

California Consortium projects are equity investments in on-going business enterprises. Its investors face the “risk of both gain and loss” to meet the requirement for the EB-5 visa. As owners of these enterprises, investors face the uncertainty of profits and losses, and the return of capital. These investments are in strict compliance with the law and they meet the requirements described in Matter of Izummi. They are not loan arrangements. They do not provide interest payments nor is an investor’s capital guaranteed to be returned at a predetermined date in the future.

How does the regional center, or the investment entity, protect its investors from investment risk?

Why is this important?

EB-5 investments have two risks. One deals with visa qualification. The other is the loss of the investment. Some regional centers may not have the experience or the resources necessary to manage these risks and meet their investors’ immigration and investment expectations. Experienced, well conceived regional centers manage the EB-5 visa process and oversee the investor’s interest in the business enterprise.

California Consortium Response:

The California Consortium selects its EB-5 projects with an eye for success, a recognition of manageable risk, and an understanding of how the project will work within the complex immigration requirements. Selected projects are managed by experienced, highly regarded executives who possess a proven understanding of the business enterprise and the industry in which it operates. The California Consortium or its affiliates are financially invested in the outcome of the operation so the immigrant investor’s investment goals are aligned with those of the Regional Center.

What is the projected exit event?

Why is this important?

The exit event describes the time and circumstance of the return of the investment. Not all regional centers have a clearly defined exit event that, upon close analysis, exhibits a high probability of actually occurring. A full understanding of if or how the investment will be returned and when this will occur is essential to making a well informed decision to invest in a regional center program.

California Consortium Response:

California Consortium designs its exit strategies on a project-by-project basis to give immigrant investors the maximum flexibility possible within a given business sector, while still making long-term financial sense. Ultimately, exiting a specific project could mean a company-wide sale, a merger, a public offering, or a simple sale of the investor’s interest at the then-current value. Details regarding the planned exits for specific projects are outlined in our project business plan.

Where is the EB-5 project located?

Why is this important?

The location of the project should accommodate the specific needs of the business enterprise. Factors such as facility requirements, availability of an appropriately skilled workforce, access to suppliers, and convenience for consumers, should be considered.

California Consortium Response:

The California Consortium operated within California’s San Joaquin Valley, a 27,000 square mile area that covers nine counties in the center of the state. In the center of the San Joaquin Valley lies the City of Fresno, California’s sixth largest city. According to an Ernst and Young study, Fresno is an ideal location for manufacturing and distribution because over 35 million consumers are just a day’s drive away.

Is the regional center sponsor physically located within the regional center’s area of operation?

Why is this important?

Projects located near the offices of a regional center provide convenient access for prospective investors to complete their due diligence of the investment. Proximity to their projects also allows a regional center frequent and routine oversight and management of the investment on behalf of the investor. This also enables the principals of the center, and the managers of the business enterprise, to respond quickly to questions or concerns of investors.

California Consortium Response:

The City of Fresno is in the center of the California Consortium project area and it is here that the Regional Center has its roots and maintains an office. The California Consortium directors believe it is critical for the regional center to have a fundamental understanding of the project area as well as a presence there.

Is it possible to tour the project location with a regional center representative?

Why is this important?

With more than 85 regional centers scattered throughout the US, it can be very difficult to assess them and the project they promote. A sight visit to the project provides an efficient way to evaluate the regional center and the quality of their investments by having a face-to-face meeting with the principals of the center and key executives of the projects.

California Consortium Response:

In addition to reviewing a detailed project summary, California Consortium encourages potential clients to schedule a site visit so that they can meet the day-to-day business managers and assess the specific business conditions in person. The California Consortium recognizes that this investment has important immigration and financial implications and believes site visits and meetings with senior partners are very helpful to clients in their evaluation of our programs.